This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Click "Accept" to allow us to use cookies. You can revoke this consent in any moment. For more information please read our privacy policy Accept

Not Yet a member? Join Up

Join the VSCC to enjoy a wide range of benefits and exciting opportunities to get involved in the best of vintage motor sport.

Members' also enjoy:

  • Discounted tickets
  • Access to Members' only events
  • full access to the VSCC website and library
  • Favourable commission rates with Bonhams
  • Discounted Insurance rates with Hagerty
  • 10% off new Subaru and Isuzu range
Return to view all VSCC news

VSCC Awards Dinner and AGM Takes off at East Midlands

Despite the appalling weather at the weekend, hundreds of VSCC Members attended the inaugural Annual Awards Dinner, Annual General Meeting, Marshals Dinner and various marshalling forums over the weekend at the Radisson Blu Hotel near to Donington Park even though the nearby East Midlands airport was closed for much of the weekend which put many people off travelling.
Some 75 people attended a very successful Awards Dinner on the Friday evening during which 54 awards were presented to winners. Ably compèred by Ian Titchmarsh and with Barrie Williams handing out the trophies it was a good-humoured and enjoyable event with David Knight taking the Club’s most prestigious award, The Lycett Memorial Trophy, after a very successful 2012 season.
At the AGM on Saturday morning, attended by 72 Members, routine business was quickly despatched to concentrate on the ballot for the appointment of Directors and two special resolutions to amend the Memorandum and Articles of Association.
Following the ballot, the appointment of the Officers of the Club was confirmed as:
President                                           Tony Stephens
Past Presidents                                 Roger Ballard and Martin Grant Peterkin
Honorary Treasurer                          Brian Fidler
Honorary Legal Advisor                   Paul Marsh
Editor of the Bulletin                        John Staveley
Elected Directors were confirmed as:
Tania Brown
Gary Clare
Timothy Dutton
Ian Ferguson
David Furnell
Julian Ghosh
John Gill
Dennis Johnson
Tim Kneller
Dick Patten
Geoff Smith
Jeremy Way
Two special resolutions to amend the Memorandum and Articles of Association were passed with one (proxy) vote against.
Article 10 sets the date at which any member who has not renewed his/her subscription ceases to be a member. The previous date (25 March) refers back to the old system of quarter days and was set when the Club’s financial year end was 31 October, rather than 31 December as it is now. By moving this date to the 31 March, it simply gives the Club a little more flexibility in arranging the AGM date.
Article 55 governing Directors’ meetings was changed to allow any Director who is not able to attend a meeting in person, say in the case of the recent severe weather, the opportunity to participate in the meeting by such methods as a telephone conference call.
Topics discussed after the official business covered Tool Room Copy Racing Cars; What constitutes a ‘successful’ meeting; insuring young drivers in Pre-war motor cars; the effects of the demise of MoTs for 1960 cars; the selection and appointment of the Club’s Senior Officials; the clarity of printing in the recently published List of Members; the Club’s 80th Anniversary celebrations.
Meetings and forums covering Senior Official Training, Non-Speed Organisers Meeting, Marshalling Sub-Committee, Driving Standards Observers, and the Marshals’ Forum preceded a very well attended Marshals’ Dinner where over 130 guests enjoyed the traditional Steak and Kidney Pudding and a talk by three-times Motoring News Rally Champion, Mick Briant, who found his way there even though his Navigator, book collaborator, and VSCC member, David Kirkham was defeated by the weather. The Club’s annual marshalling awards were also presented.
All in all, and despite the travel restrictions imposed by the weather, the whole weekend was a huge success, enjoyed by all those who attended.
Full details of proceedings at the AGM will be published in due course.


In period, Alan Mann Racing campaigned a variety of cars for the Ford factory – including Cortinas, Falcons, Mustangs and Escorts – on the...

published 4 years ago

Vintage Sports-Car Club named ‘Club of the Year’ at the 2014 International Historic Motoring Awards

This year’s awards were presented at a Gala Dinner at the St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel in London on Thursday 20 November, where Club Director, ...

published 5 years ago

Fast Eddie Lands Double Twelve Trophy


published 7 months ago