The item was added to your basket.

Go to checkout

Benefits of being a member

We’d love to tell you more about all the wonderful events that the Vintage Sports-Car Club organises and give you access to the whole of our Vintage world, So what have you been waiting for? Join the Vintage Sports-Car Club now and enjoy full access to all the information on this website as well as to be able to compete in events, receive our superb publications and take advantage of our affiliations with Principal Associates and other supporters. To see a full list of Membership benefits please click here.


How do you want to enter?

Download Entry Form
Enter online

Welcome to the VSCC


Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!



Friday 22 November 2013

VSCC Trials End of Season Celebrations in the Cotswolds this weekend!

The final Vintage Sports-Car Club Trial of 2013, the Cotswold Trial, takes place tomorrow Saturday 23 November, with Event HQ again based at Prescott Hill Climb. A full entry of 110 Pre-war Cars will descend on the Gloucestershire countryside to tackle a total of 12 sections in the vicinity, with the final four of which situated in the grounds of the famous Hill Climb venue itself. There, we anticipate a bumper crowd of spectators to come and watch our members in action as the day’s competition comes to a conclusion and the final standings are decided.
The Spectator Hills at Prescott will open at 12 Noon when competitors will arrive back to the venue having completed the day’s other sections. Here we encourage people to come to watch the action (absolutely no dogs); the Spectator areas will be clearly marked with plenty of Marshals on-hand – for your safety, please heed any and all instructions!  There will be plenty of parking available in the Orchard from 1100hrs (£3 will be charged per car to cover costs which will include an Event Programme) whilst a mobile catering unit will be open adjacent to the Orchard sections and Prescott Clubhouse will be open throughout the day providing breakfast, lunches and hot and cold drinks. Here you will also be able to purchase/order VSCC Christmas Cards and other items from the Club’s Regalia range whilst at the conclusion of the event, competitors, marshals and officials will gather here for the announcing of the day’s Results.

The event concludes the Club’s year-long Trials season of seven events around the UK, from Scotland to Exmoor, with the year’s ‘Champions’ to be crowned at the end of the day. We thank Club Member and Trials Marshal, Peter Livesey for again collating scores throughout the season and here  gives his review of our last round a fortnight ago – the Lakeland Trial – and provides an update on the latest overall standings going into this final round:

The Lakeland took place in quite appalling weather (or, if you are a mud freak, ideal conditions).  With the relegation of Nanny’s’ Peep and Ullister Mill, difficult and exciting sections and often tie deciders, only Wood End View and Grizedale offered any serious challenge and both of these were impassable beyond markers 16 and 19 respectively.  In fact, the top half of the short chassis entry was differentiated by performances on these two sections and the top twenty finishers were only 9 points apart.  Louise Bunting in the GN Touring (which, in GN folklore means ‘sporting’) won by a single point from the four following cars that also included Mark Powley’s Frazer Nash and three Austins (Matt Johnson, Welsh winner Richard Houlgate, and Donald Skelton. Class 2 was similarly affected by the conditions and Paul Jeavons (Vauxhall 30/98) narrowly won over Robert Hodgkinson (Ford Model A) and Jonathan Miller (Chrysler).


Leaders in both Classes for the annual Trials trophies have now completed six events and will be forced to drop the scores for one event if they enter the final trial, the Cotswold.  As this tends to be one of the lower scoring events, it is odds-on that Don Skelton will hold on to the Routen Chaplin Trophy.

In the Frost Trophy, Jonathan Miller (Chrysler) leads John Higgs (Morris) by 194 points.  John has, however, competed in one fewer events.  Both are entered in the Cotswold and it is still possible, given a very good run, for John to pip Jonathan for the top award.

TRIALS TROPHIES 2013 – Scores to Date
The Routen Chaplin Trophy

The Frost Trophy

1 Donald Skelton (6) 1838 1 Jonathan Miller (6) 1553
2 David Golightly (6) 1753 2 John Higgs (5) 1359
3 Stewart Rich (6) 1680 3 Tim Kemp (6) 1272
4 Kraig Mycock (6) 1680 4 Paul Jeavons (5) 1253
5 Alan Bee (6) 1659 5 Jonathan Rose (5) 1249
6 Stephen Jones (6) 1634 6 John Chilman (5) 1211
7 Clive Press (6) 1586 7 Simon Bowyer (5) 1187
8 Mark Powley (6) 1556 8 Dennis Bingham (5) 1163
9 Richard Houlgate (5) 1498 9 Michael Power (4) 978
10 Keith Hill (6) 1490 10 Andrew Craven (4) 772
11 Keith Dobinson (5) 1423 11 Gaynor White (3) 750
12 Simon Price (5) 1405 12 Roy Newton (3) 703
13 Peter Kite (5) 1394 13 David Knight (3) 699
14 Phil Longhurst (5) 1392 14 Paul Cassidy (3) 689
15 Andrew Fox (5) 1369 15 Ben Shepperd (3) 657
In the Standard classes, no one approaches Charles Gillett in his high-performing Brescia efforts and he keeps top place in the short chassis cars.  Dennis Bingham (Model A) wins the long chassis class as his nearest competitor, Andrew Craven (Riley Kestrel), is more than the maximum score of a single event behind.

TRIALS SCORES 2012 – Standard Classes
Class 1a Class 2a
1 Charles Gillett (4) 1115 1 Dennis Bingham (5) 1163
2 Tom Walker (3) 627 2 Andrew Craven (4) 772
3 Nick Topliss (3) 596 3 Roy Newton (3) 703
4 David Johnson (3) 519 4 Steven Smith (3) 637
5 Trevor Corner (3) 377 5 Robert Frankcom (3) 598
6 Graham Carr (2) 342 6 Marcus Creaser (2) 526

 Numbers in brackets indicate events counting.  Trials competed are: Exmoor, Derbyshire, Herefordshire, Scottish, Welsh and Lakeland.


The Pomeroy Trophy Competition

24 Feb 2018

John Harris Trial

03 Mar 2018

Blyton Park Track Day

13 Mar 2018

Blyton Park

Herefordshire Trial

17 Mar 2018

LC&ES Welsh W'end Trial

24 Mar 2018

Awards Dinner

You must be a member to buy tickets for this event.

Price for members:£35.00

Awards Dinner

06 Apr 2018