The item was added to your basket.

Go to checkout

Benefits of being a member

We’d love to tell you more about all the wonderful events that the Vintage Sports-Car Club organises and give you access to the whole of our Vintage world, So what have you been waiting for? Join the Vintage Sports-Car Club now and enjoy full access to all the information on this website as well as to be able to compete in events, receive our superb publications and take advantage of our affiliations with Principal Associates and other supporters. To see a full list of Membership benefits please click here.


How do you want to enter?

Download Entry Form
Enter online

Welcome to the VSCC


Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!



VSCC Derbyshire Trial 2013-10
Tuesday 10 December 2013

Vintage Sports-Car Club Crown their Trials Champions for 2013

Following the final Trial of 2013, the Cotswold, the season’s standings have been finalised for the Club’s prestigious Annual Trials Trophies. The Annual Trophy for our Short Wheelbase (Class 1) – originally awarded across both classes – is traditionally supported by the Club’s Insurance Associate Routen Chaplin whilst a second Trophy for our Long Wheelbase (Class 2) was introduced eight years ago, donated by Frost Auto Restoration Techniques.
The VSCC Trials season comprises seven events from February to November, located in Exmoor, Derbyshire, Herefordshire, Scottish Borders, Wales, Lake District and Cotswolds. Trophy Points from a maximum of six events are counted towards the Annual Trophies – the Club’s annual Welsh Trial has always been restricted to Vintage & Edwardian cars only (i.e. Pre-1931) and therefore would put those drivers of Post-Vintage Thoroughbred (PVT) cars at an immediate disadvantage.

Recent winners of the two Annual Trophies include:

Year Short Chassis Cars                Long Chassis Cars                     
2012 Donald Skelton Austin 7 Jeremy Brewster Lea-Francis
2011 Mags Diffey Bugatti Stuart Cooke Morris
2010 Donald Skelton Austin 7 Gareth Graham Bentley
2009 Donald Skelton Austin 7 Jonathan Rose Morris
2008 David Dye Austin 7 Jonathan Miller Chrysler
Coming into this year’s final event, last month’s Cotswold Trial, erstwhile Trials Champion Don Skelton had already secured the Routen Chaplin Trophy for the Short Wheelbase cars for a fourth time in the last five years in his Austin 7 and it only remained to see how close Runner-Up Richard Houlgate (also Austin 7) could push him in this final event.  But scores were high and Richard had to settle for a rather distant second place.  David Golightly saw a change of machinery halfway through the season, swapping his recognisable Ford Model A Special for another from the American marque in the form of a 1927 Model T. A consistent performance in the Class in both cars saw him take an impressive third place at year’s end.

In contention for the Frost Trophy for Long Wheelbase cars were Jonathan Miller (Chrysler) and John Higgs (Morris Cowley).  The contest was very close coming to the last event with Jonathan still required to drop one result (having already completed six events) and John needing only a good score to snatch the annual victory.  Surprisingly, for conditions were very favourable, neither had a sparkling day and scores at the finish had Jonathan winning by only seven points over the whole season’s competition, his third victory in the Trophy’s eight year existence. The sight of Paul Jeavons’s Vauxhall 30-98 in third place will be most welcomed in this the Centenary year for the revered model.

The Routen Chaplin Trophy
RC Logo
The Frost Trophy
1 Donald Skelton (6) 1888 1 Jonathan Miller (6) 1604
2 Richard Houlgate (6) 1800 2 John Higgs (6) 1597
3 David Golightly (6) 1763 3 Paul Jeavons (6) 1545
4 Kraig Mycock (6) 1757 4 John Chilman (5) 1477
5 Keith Dobinson (6) 1717 5 Jonathan Rose (6) 1471
6= Simon Price (6) 1712 6 Simon Bowyer (6) 1432
6= Stewart Rich (6) 1712 7 Dennis Bingham (6) 1407
8 Keith Hill (6) 1694 8 Tim Kemp (6) 1272
9 Phil Longhurst (6) 1689 9 Michael Power (5) 1186
10 Alan Bee (6) 1684 10 Ben Shepperd (4) 911
11 Stephen Jones (6) 1663 11 Graham White (3) 840
12 Simon Blakeney-Edwards (6) 1590 12 Andrew Craven (4) 772
13 Clive Press (6) 1586 13 Marcus Creaser (3) 761
14 Mark Powley (6) 1556 14 Gaynor White (3) 750
15 Terry Gosling (6) 1440 15 Michael New (3) 745
Numbers in brackets indicate total events counting.  Trials included are: Exmoor, Derbyshire, Herefordshire, Scottish, Welsh, Lakeland and Cotswold.

In the Standard classes, both Charles Gillett in the short chassis Bugatti Brescia and Dennis Bingham in the long chassis Model A Ford won their sections with ease, each competing in two more events than their nearest rivals.

TRIALS SCORES 2013 – Standard Classes
Class 1a Class 2a
1 Charles Gillett (5) 1115 1 Dennis Bingham (6) 1163
2 Tom Walker (3) 627 2 Andrew Craven (4) 772
3 Nick Topliss (3) 596 3 Marcus Creaser (3) 761
4 David Johnson (4) 716 4 Jonathan Rose (3) 708
5 Trevor Corner (3) 377 5 Roy Newton (3) 703
6 Graham Carr (2) 342 6 Steven Smith (3) 637
Note:  Jon Rose split his entry between different cars in classes 2a and 2b

Again, we thank member Peter Livesey for his detailed event reports and for collating the Trophy Points throughout the 2013 Trials season. Peter has also found time to act as a Section Chief at a number of our Trials events this year and is a regular competitor at the Club’s Prescott Speed Hill Climb in August each year in his 1924 Bugatti T13.


LC&ES Welsh W'end Trial

24 Mar 2018

Awards Dinner

You must be a member to buy tickets for this event.

Price for members:£35.00

Awards Dinner

06 Apr 2018

Scottish Trial

14 Apr 2018

Formula Vintage - Round 1 - Silverstone

You must be a member to buy tickets for this event.

Price for members:£12.00
Members day 2:£12.00
Qty day 1:
Qty day 2:

Formula Vintage - Round 1 - Silverstone

21 Apr 2018 - 22 Apr 2018

Park & Parade - Formula Vintage - Round 1 - Silverstone - Day 1

21 Apr 2018

Silverstone AutoSolo

22 Apr 2018