The item was added to your basket.

Go to checkout

Benefits of being a member

We’d love to tell you more about all the wonderful events that the Vintage Sports-Car Club organises and give you access to the whole of our Vintage world, So what have you been waiting for? Join the Vintage Sports-Car Club now and enjoy full access to all the information on this website as well as to be able to compete in events, receive our superb publications and take advantage of our affiliations with Principal Associates and other supporters. To see a full list of Membership benefits please click here.


How do you want to enter?

Download Entry Form
Enter online

Welcome to the VSCC


Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!



VSCC_Herefordshire 209
Thursday 03 December 2015

Golightly seals 2015 VSCC Trials Season Championship

Following confirmation of results from our Cotswold Trial, the traditional season closer, the standings have been finalised and we are delighted to announce the winners of the Club’s prestigious Annual Trials Trophies for 2015.
The silverware  for our Short Wheelbase cars (Class 1) – originally awarded across both classes – is traditionally supported by the Club’s current Insurance Associate, Hagerty whilst a second trophy for our Long Wheelbase (Class 2) was introduced ten years ago, donated by long-time discipline supporters, Frost Auto Restoration Techniques.
The VSCC Trials season comprises seven events from February to November, located in Exmoor, Derbyshire, Herefordshire, Scottish Borders, Wales, Lake District and Cotswolds. Trophy Points from a maximum of six events are counted towards the Annual Trophies – the Club’s annual Welsh Trial has always been restricted to Vintage & Edwardian cars only (i.e. Pre-1931) and therefore would put those drivers of Post-Vintage Thoroughbred (PVT) cars at an immediate disadvantage.
Recent winners of the two Annual Trophies include:
Year Short Wheelbase Cars       Long Wheelbase Cars                   
2014 Matt Johnston Austin Paul Jeavons Vauxhall
2013 Donald Skelton Austin Jonathan Miller Chrysler
2012 Donald Skelton Austin Jeremy Brewster Lea-Francis
2011 Mags Diffey Bugatti Stuart Cooke Morris
2010 Donald Skelton Austin Gareth Graham Bentley
The Short Wheelbase Class for the Hagerty Trophy proved an epic battle all season long between the Ford Model T of David Golightly and Donald Skelton, a 3-time Championship winner in his Austin 7. The first part of the year saw the pair share the victories, with Golightly holding the advantage at the season’s halfway stage, having triumphed at the Derbyshire, Herefordshire and Scottish events.
Victory at the Welsh Trial in October saw Skelton close the gap. However, challenging conditions at the Lakeland Trial delivered below par results for both our front-runners, ensuring it would come ‘down to the wire’ at the Cotswolds. Whilst neither could hit the heights of the early season with another overall victory, David’s 1st Class award was enough to beat his rival and claim his first VSCC Trials Championship crown.
The well-deserved success proved a satisfactory end to a well-spirited contest over the season, which also saw the pair swap cars for an event with our friends at the Preston & District Vintage Car Club, raising over £500 for the local Air Ambulance Charity.
Ahead of the final round, Paul Jeavons looked to have tied up the overall victory in the Frost Trophy standings for Long Wheelbase Class in his Vauxhall 30-98 for a second consecutive year. Following several consistent performances throughout the season, including Class victory at the Derbyshire Trial in March, he entered the Cotswolds trailing Robert Hodgkinson’s Ford Model A in the standings by less than a dozen points, having only competed in five events – thus his weekend’s score was still to count. Although just outside the awards on the day, his score was strong enough to deliver the expected season triumph.
The Hagerty Trophy
The Frost Trophy
1 David Golightly Ford 2059 1 Paul Jeavons Vauxhall 1692
2 Donald Skelton Austin 2022 2 John Chilman Chrysler 1486
3 Richard Houlgate Austin 1846 3 Robert Hodgkinson Ford 1485
4 Phil Longhurst Riley 1835 4 Dennis Bingham Ford 1469
5 Peter Kite Austin 1815 5 Richard White Morris 1404
6 Kraig Mycock Riley 1769 6 Tim Dutton Ford 1378
7 Andrew Fox Austin 1750 7 John Higgs Morris 1169
8 Keith Hill Singer 1713 8 Tim Kneller Morris 1152
9 Matthew Johnston Austin 1688 9 Steve White Riley/Ford 1105
10 Alexandra Milne-Taylor AJS 1679 10 James Bell Chrysler 1045
11 Clive Press Austin 1667 11 Ben Collings Bentley 989
12 Stewart Rich Austin 1638 12 Jeremy Flann Ford 977
13 Nigel Glover Austin 1611 13 Graham White Lea-Francis 971
14 David Rolfe MG 1585 14 Norman Lloyd Bentley 936
15 Simon Price Ford 1556 15 Peter Garland Vauxhall 915
Amongst the ‘Standard’ cars, both Russell Hennessy (Morris Bullnose) and Dennis Bingham (Ford Model A) enjoyed a well-deserved ‘lap of honour’ in the Cotswolds following their strong and consistent performances throughout the season to dominate their respective standings, with Bingham’s total enough to place him fourth in the overall Long Wheelbase standings, amongst much more modified machinery.
Standard Short Wheelbase Standard Long Wheelbase
1 Russell Hennessy Morris 1144 1 Dennis Bingham Ford 1469
2 David Rushton MG 743 2 Christopher Batty Ford 830
3 David Johnson Austin 672 3 John Wiseman Ford 809
4 Mark Smith MG 575 4 John Dobson Ford 728
5 Will Odell Riley 502 5 Roy Newton Ford 686
6 Charles Gillett Morris 498 6 Chris Williams Ford 658
We thank Club Member and Trials Marshal, Peter Livesey for again collating scores on behalf of the Club in 2015 and all those who competed or marshalled across another successful VSCC Trials campaign.
Exmoor Fringe Trial 2016 – Entries Now Open
Entries are now open for the first VSCC Trial in 2016, our Exmoor Fringe Trial, which takes place on Saturday 13 February, based once again at the Anchor Inn, Exebridge in Somerset.
Once again it is down to the Exmoor ‘Fringe’ Trial to kick-start the ever popular VSCC Trials Season with the 25th Anniversary of the Club’s annual February visit to the South-West. Long-time helmsman of the event, Graham White takes on the Clerk of the Course role for the VSCC’s traditional season curtain-raiser so we hope to see a fantastic turnout to celebrate his many years of hard work and dedication.
He will no doubt be offering a challenging but exciting day’s competition, based again at the cosy surroundings of The Anchor Inn. With its thick forests, muddy fields and rolling moors, Exmoor is  undoubtedly a stunning location to trial so do not miss the chance to take part in one of the Club’s most loved events – just be sure to wrap up warm as Winter is sure to be holding us in a grip of iron.
Entry Fee: £65.00                 Closing Date for Entries: 1 February
Members can download Supplementary Regulations and Entry Form, the latter to complete and return by email/fax/post or alternatively enter online at the event page (CLICK HERE). Remember you must have a credit card lodged with the Office and who know the Buff Form Number of the car you wish to enter to use the online facility.
If you have any questions or would like to volunteer to marshal, please contact the Competition Department on 01608 644777 Ext 4 or email


LC&ES Welsh W'end Trial

24 Mar 2018

Awards Dinner

You must be a member to buy tickets for this event.

Price for members:£35.00

Awards Dinner

06 Apr 2018

Scottish Trial

14 Apr 2018

Formula Vintage - Round 1 - Silverstone

You must be a member to buy tickets for this event.

Price for members:£12.00
Members day 2:£12.00
Qty day 1:
Qty day 2:

Formula Vintage - Round 1 - Silverstone

21 Apr 2018 - 22 Apr 2018

Silverstone AutoSolo

22 Apr 2018

The Champagne Rally

28 Apr 2018

Wyck Hill Hotel and Spa, GL54 1HY